In six to eight weeks our cabinet will be considering if it is time for New Zealand to increase our refugee quota. They welcome your input so please email them (addresses below) with your thoughts.

Prime Minister John Key: j.key@ministers.govt.nz

Hon Michael Woodhouse , Minister of Immigration : m.woodhouse@ministers.govt.nz

Hon Murray McCully, Minister of Foreign Affairs : m.mccully@ministers.govt.nz

Hon Bill English, Deputy Prime Minister: b.english@ministers.govt.nz


Thanks to Tracey Barnett, columnist, author and long-time knower of all things ‘refugee’, journalist, for providing this information.

1.     Distribute an email list of cabinet ministers to your networks. Ask folks to write short, one paragraph emails to the relevant MPs. Start with: j.key@ministers.govt.nz, m.woodhouse@ministers.govt.nz, m.mccully@ministers.govt.nz

2.     Consider sending a submission through Amnesty’s ‘Our Voices’ initiative: https://www.amnesty.org.nz/our-voices or asking members to sign Action Station’s petition to government: http://www.actionstation.org.nz/refugees

3.     Share, share, share. Actively share some of the videos and articles that will be generated in the next several weeks. Consider asking your networks to ‘like’ the Facebook pages of those listed below. 


Doing Our Bit: https://www.facebook.com/AreWeDoingOurBit/?fref=ts
WagePeaceNZ: https://www.facebook.com/wagepeacenz/
Kiwis on Board:


Refugees are Welcome in:
(Wellington) https://www.facebook.com/Refugees-Are-Welcome-In-Wellington-519986641491083/
(Auckland) https://www.facebook.com/Refugees-are-Welcome-in-Auckland-170317316649427/

4.     Issue a press release from your organization endorsing raising the quota and send it out widely to media. Offer your spokesperson for an interview.

5.     Publish your own, or a guest opinion column, in your network newsletter on the issue.

6.     Tell your story. If you have a particularly good Kiwi refugee story that can illustrate the positive impact that resettling in NZ has had on their lives, contact media with a one-page bullet point press release, offering an interview, in conjunction with your comment on the issue.

7.     Tell your organisation’s story. Do you have a Dream Team of dedicated high schoolers who are holding up ‘Refugees Are Welcome Here’ signs?  Any light or funny stories about what new Syrian arrivals to Wellington find strange about their new life? Issue a press release with photos and offer a spokesperson’s contact details.

8.     Consider offering a speaker on the issue. Contact Tracey Barnett in Auckland: tracey.barnett@xtra.co.nz, others interested in speaking kindly contact Tracey and she can refer you.